The Thomas Jefferson Dollar Coin: A Presidential Coin Series

About Thomas Jefferson’s Dollar Coin

Thomas Jefferson was featured on a circulating United States dollar coin that was minted in 2007 as part of the Presidential $1 Coin Program. The coin has Jefferson’s portrait on the obverse (front) and the Statue of Liberty on the reverse (back). It was the third coin released in the series, following George Washington and John Adams. The program aimed to honor and recognize the contributions of US Presidents by featuring them on circulating coins. 

Thomas Jefferson’s Dollar Coin Design

The Thomas Jefferson dollar coin features a portrait of Thomas Jefferson on the obverse, with the inscriptions “Thomas Jefferson,” “3rd President,” and “1801-1809.” The reverse of the coin features an image of the Statue of Liberty, along with the inscriptions “United States of America” and “$1.” The design was created by artist Joseph Menna, who based the portrait on historical records and images of Jefferson, and the Statue of Liberty was designed by Don Everhart.

Where is the Mint Mark on a Thomas Jefferson Dollar Coin?

The mint mark on a Thomas Jefferson dollar coin can be found on the edge of the coin, rather than on the obverse or reverse. The mint mark indicates which of the four United States Mint facilities produced the coin. Coins minted in Philadelphia have no mint mark, while coins minted in Denver have a small “D” mint mark, and coins minted in San Francisco have a small “S” mint mark. 

How much is a 2007 D Thomas Jefferson Golden Dollar Worth?

The value of a 2007 D Thomas Jefferson Presidential dollar coin depends on its condition and grade. If the coin is in uncirculated condition, meaning it has not been used as currency and has no signs of wear, it may be worth around $3 to $5. If the coin is graded by a professional coin grading service and is found to be in nearly perfect condition, it may be worth more. However, if the coin has wear or damage from circulation, its value may be closer to its face value of $1. 

Thomas Jefferson as President

Thomas Jefferson was the third President of the United States, serving two terms from 1801 to 1809. During his presidency, he is known for a number of significant accomplishments, including:

  • Making the Louisiana Purchase in 1803, which doubled the size of the United States and secured American control of the Mississippi River.
  • Establishing the Lewis and Clark Expedition to explore and map the western portion of the United States.
  • Reducing the size and power of the federal government, cutting taxes, and reducing the national debt.
  • Opposing the creation of a national bank, instead favoring states’ rights and limited government.
  • Promoting religious freedom and tolerance, and opposing the establishment of a national religion.
  • Advocating for free trade and reducing government regulations.

Jefferson’s presidency was also marked by some controversies and challenges, including ongoing tensions with Great Britain and France, the embargo of 1807, and the failure of the Embargo Act to promote American interests. Despite these challenges, Jefferson is widely regarded as one of the most influential and important Presidents in American history.